11 Comments

I'm going to do something very un-English and ask a stranger a personal question! Although I'm a humanist (and therefore do not believe in any God or gods), I have a long interest in medieval Christianity, and love to visit medieval religious houses of all sorts and sizes, appreciating their atmosphere and history. Are you religious? If so, did your interest spring from your beliefs, or did your beliefs spring from your interest?

Expand full comment

In the course of your researches, have you come across much evidence of monasteries providing education other than for their own inmates? It is often claimed that the dissolution had an adverse effect on the provision of education for the population in general but I have often wondered about this.

Expand full comment

Barlinch Priory in Somerset had a school with a schoolmaster.

https://www.exmoorher.co.uk/Monument/MSO8840

Incredibly, a notebook from one of the pupils survives.

https://www.exmoorher.co.uk/Source/SEM6793

Expand full comment

Thank you. Very interesting.

Expand full comment

What is your favorite handbag you own? Your dream handbag? And while I'm asking favorite things....your favorite church or cathedral? 😉

Expand full comment

Emma, What is the difference between Early English Gothic and French Gothic?

Expand full comment

Since nobody else has raised the matter, I'll be the one to ask you to tell us all about your new job.

Expand full comment
founding

Have you visited Buckfast Abbey? My Ecclesiastical (read: trying to return to my spiritual roots) interest came from attending Buckfast Abbey Prep school in the 1970s, and learning about its original dissolution in 1539. Founded as a Benedictine order in 1018, it later became Cistercian. Finally, it was rebuilt by Benedictine monks who had been exiled from France in 1882. When I was allowed to sit in the choir stalls, I used to marvel at the Gothic looking nave. I was also lucky to lurk around the cloisters and sacristy after becoming an alter server, belonging to the Guild of St Stephen. Ahh...the smell of Prinknash incense!

Expand full comment

I approach church crawling as a humanist. Do you think it makes a difference to how one appreciates a sacred building if you are a person not of faith? I think it gives a certain detachment if one is looking at the religious rites & their setting as an observer, not a participant. Visiting churches under the label of "private prayer" but experiencing something much closer to mindfulness might feel a tiny bit fraudulent occasionally!

Expand full comment

Now that I have my morning coffee I have more to ask! I'm an atheist. Do you have a sense of what percentage of church crawlers are atheist or agnostic? Also can you recommend a book (with lots of illustrations!) on how to identify the various features of a church, the furnishings inside, and the architectural style(s)?

Expand full comment

I'm in San Francisco so perhaps I'm too late but my questions are: How old are you? Are you married/partnered?

Expand full comment